Wichita’s Hanrahan Tops Seven Players in PTQ Earning Berths in PBA Hall of Fame Classic

by Jerry Schneider, Professional Bowlers Association 0

ARLINGTON, Texas  (Jan. 13, 2020) –  Left-handed two-hander Patrick Hanrahan of Wichita, Kansas, averaged 229 for the eight-game pre-tournament qualifier Monday at the International Training and Research Center to lead seven players who earned berths in the PBA Hall of Fame Classic. The seven players completed the field of 56 players who will begin the first tournament of the 2020 Go Bowling PBA Tour season with Wednesday’s first-round qualifying.

The 24-year-old former Wichita State University player, in his second season on tour, bowled games of 205, 224, 299, 226, 208, 222, 223 and 229 for an 1,836 pinfall total, qualifying first in the 35-player PTQ field. Deo Benard of Henderson, Nevada was second with 1,823.

Wesley Low Jr. of Palmdale, California, another former Wichita State player who uses a two-handed delivery from the left side and Canadian Patrick Girard tied for sixth with a 1,759 pinfall to take the final two spots in the tournament field.

After Tuesday’s practice sessions, half of the 56-player field will bowl first-round qualifying Wednesday at 11 a.m. CT and the other half will bowl at 5 p.m. Qualifying continues with second-round qualifying on Thursday also at 11 a.m. and 5 p.m. 

After 12 qualifying games, the top 14 players will advance to match play rounds at 11 a.m. and 5 p.m. Friday. Total pinfall, including match play bonus pins, for 26 games will determine the top five for the stepladder finals live on FS1 Sunday at 1 p.m. ET (noon CT).

All qualifying and match play rounds leading up to the finals will be live-streamed by PBA’s online streaming partner, FloBowling. For subscription and schedule information, visit FloBowling.com.


Pre-Tournament Qualifier Results

International Training and Research Center, Arlington, Texas, Monday

(after eight games; top seven advance to Wednesday’s first-round qualifying)

1, Patrick Hanrahan, Wichita, Kan., 1,836.
2, Deo Benard, Henderson, Nev., 1,823.
3, Brent Boho, Colgate, Wis., 1,785.
4, Nate Garcia, Port St. Lucie, Fla., 1,777.
5, Ildemaro Ruiz, Venezuela, 1,768.
6 (tie), Wesley Low Jr., Palmdale, Calif., and Patrick Girard, Canada, 1,759.

Did not advance:

8, Greg Ostrander, Brick, N.J., 1,748.
9, Sean Lavery-Spahr, Pasadena, Texas, 1,747.
10, Chris Via, Springfield, Ohio, 1,732.
11, (tie) Arturo Quintero, Mexico, and Alex Martin, Kennesaw, Ga., 1,730.
13, Jim Pratt, Avondale, Ariz., 1,728.
14, (tie) Brandon Curtis, Manson, N.C., and Matt Kuba, Chicago Ridge, Ill., 1,726.
16, Sam Cooley, Australia, 1,724.
17, Brandon Novak, Chillicothe, Ohio, 1,691.
18, Dino Castillo, Highland Village, Texas, 1,679.
19, Michael Tang, Johnstown, Ohio, 1,670.
20, Nick Kruml, Downers Grove, Ill., 1,664.
21, Kamron Doyle, Brentwood, Tenn., 1,633.
22, Russ Oviatt, Sioux Falls, S.D., 1,630.
23, (tie) Mike Coffey, Melbourne, Fla., and Zachray Wilkins, Canada, 1,615.
25, Zeke Bayt, Westerville, Ohio, 1,610.
26, Gaetan Mouveroux, France, 1,602.
27, Andrew Silverman, Akron, Ohio, 1,594.
28, Michael Davidson, Versailles, Ohio, 1,591.
29, Brian Robinson, Morgantown, W.Va., 1,581.
30, Greg Young, Viera, Fla., 1,554.
31, Ryan Burks, Kansas City, Mo., 1,550.
32, Justin Wyman, Fairport, N.Y., 1,494.
33, Zac Tackett, Huntington, Ind., 1,492.
34, Trey Ford III, Bartlesville, Okla., 1,468.
35, Carl Hay, Redondo Beach, Calif., 1,338.

BJI Subscribe Now