Tune in Sunday at 1 p.m. ET for the LIVE PWBA Tour Championship on CBS Sports Network

by Gianmarc Manzione 0



Lucas Wiseman
USBC Communications

ARLINGTON, Texas - The Professional Women's Bowling Association Tour season is coming to an end this weekend, as 16 of the tour's top players are competing in The Smithfield PWBA Tour Championship promoted by GoBowling.com.

PWBA Tour points leader and three-time champion this season, Liz Johnson of Cheektowaga, N.Y., and Stefanie Johnson of Grand Prairie, Texas, are automatically seeded into the live finals on Sunday at 1 p.m. Eastern on CBS Sports Network. The event began today with the first three rounds of match play at the International Training and Research Center.

As the top two players in the PWBA Tour points, Johnson and Johnson earned the right to bypass the first three rounds of the bracket and are seeded straight into the semifinals. The event will also finalize which of them will earn PWBA Player of the Year honors.

The remainder of the field, made up of PWBA Tour champions this season and filled out by the points list, are competing in best-of-five matches today to determine who will join them in the semifinals.

The opening round of match play featured Elysia Current vs. Danielle McEwan, Shannon O'Keefe vs. Missy Parkin, Kristina Wendell vs. Liz Kuhlkin, Erin McCarthy vs. Clara Guerrero, Rocio Restrepo vs. Bryanna Caldwell and Shannon Pluhowsky vs. Amanda Greene. Winners were McEwan, O'Keefe, Kuhlkin, McCarthy, Restrepo and Greene. As of this writing, McEwan and O'Keefe had advanced to bowl one another in round three at 7 p.m. ET after defeating Kuhlkin and Diana Zavjalova, respectively.

Kelly Kulick and Diana Zavjalova, who are currently ranked third and fourth on the points list, earned a one-round bye and joined the bracket in Round 2.

Friday's best-of-five matches are taking place two at a time with every match broadcast live on Xtra Frame. For subscription information, visit XtraFrame.TV.

For more information on the PWBA, visit PWBA.com.

BJI Subscribe Now