Team series record falls at USBC Open

by Bob Johnson 0

Lodge Lanes Too of Orlando, Fla., rolled the highest team series in the 110-year history of the USBC Open Championships on Tuesday, totaling 3538 at the National Bowling Stadium in Reno.

That broke the 20-year-old record by a single pin.

Five-time Team USA member and two-time Open Championships titlist John Janawicz threw three strikes in his final frame to put the finishing touches on the historic performance.

The team opened with a 1206 game, the highest of the 2013 event, and added 1167 and 1165.

Bruegger's Bagels of Albany, N.Y., previously held the record with 3537, rolled in Tulsa, Okla., in 1993.

“It was an unbelievable feeling, especially because I had no clue what I needed,” said Janawicz, who won Regular Singles and Regular All-Events at the NBS in 2004. “I knew we were in good position to take the lead, so at that point, you just try to get every stick you can. I had no idea, and it’s probably a good thing I didn’t know, actually. You just have to trust in yourself and make the three best shots you can, one at a time.”

Vernon Peterson, a former Team USA and USBC Board of Directors member, led the way for Lodge Lanes Too with a 772 series. He was followed by Janawicz (752), three-time Open Championships winner John Gaines (681), 1987 Team All-Events champion Mitch Jabczenski (669) and PBA Tour titlist Scott Newell (664).

“We were just focused on bowling, and nothing else,” said Gaines, who was making his 25th ABC/Open Championships appearance. “We were obviously making good shots, and we were in the right part of the lane with the right balls, and so on, so at that point in time, you kind of have to turn it off and just start to bowl. You can’t get too far ahead of yourself. You hate the clichés, but it’s really just one frame at a time.”

Gaines, who won the 1998 Regular Singles title and helped Lodge Lanes of Belleville, Mich., to back-to-back Team All-Events titles in 1997 and ’98, holds team bowling in the highest regard, and also has found past success with Team USA and in the Brunswick World Team Challenge. One key to the team’s success Tuesday is that its members are great friends as well as talented and accomplished bowlers.

“This goes back to (USBC Hall of Famer) Bob Goike and Chris Barnes and the guys I bowled with back in the ’90s, and it morphed into bringing Mitch in with us and then the rest of the guys,” Gaines said. “That’s what makes it so special. It’s not just the five of us, it’s the 10 of us.”

Lodge Lanes Too’s companion team,, moved into ninth place in Regular Team on Tuesday with a 3247 total on games of 1033, 1127 and 1087. Breakpoint Pro Shop 2 of Sartell, Minn., previously held the team lead at the 2013 Open Championships with 3358.

Mike Sealy set the pace for with a 686 series and was followed by Jeff Ussery (665), Matt Gilman (645), Shawn Lee, who rolled a perfect game at the Storm Bowlers Journal Championships presented by USBC earlier in the day (633), and Keith Nolan (618).


Team Event

1, Lodge Lanes Too (Mitch Jabczenski, John Gaines, Scott Newell, Vernon Peterson, John Janawicz), Orlando, Fla., 3,538. 2, Breakpoint Pro Shop 2, Sartell, Minn., 3,358. 3, Joliet Town and Country Lanes, Joliet, Ill., 3,346. 4, Towne and Country Lanes 1, Hartland, Wis., 3,328. 5, Team Tilt, Lawrence, Kan., 3,326. 6, National Bowling Stores, Flowery Branch, Ga., 3,288. 7, Rancho Bowl 1, Lompoc, Calif., 3,285. 8, Nicholas J's Pro Shop 2, La Crosse, Wis., 3,271. 9,, Orlando, Fla., 3,247. 10, Kingpin Lanes, Central Square, N.Y., 3,246.


1, Chris Greene/Joe Keltner, Wichita, Kan., 1,403. 2, Russ Wilson, Lawrence, Kan./Jay Futrell, Derby, Kan., 1,396. 3, Sean Greene, Stockbridge, Ga./Stephen Mohn, Norcross, Ga., 1,365. 4, Scott How, Oregon City, Ore./Thomas Ault Jr., Portland, Ore., 1,351. 5, Derek Hartnell, Wichita, Kan./Scott Hartnell, Kenosha, Wis., 1,341. 6, Camden Rokita, Springfield, Ill./Rick Coy, Taylorville, Ill., 1,323. 7, Nick Heilman, La Crosse, Wis./Andy Mills, Onalaska, Wis., 1,316. 8 (tie), Dave Gajewski, Oak Creek, Wis./Tony Buss, Milwaukee, and Keli Callahan, Las Vegas/Pierre Thiffeault, Fresno, Calif., 1,314. 10, James Gronwoldt/Mike Norby, LeRoy, Minn., 1,312.


1, Kelly Bonta, Wichita, Kan., 776. 2, Greg Roberts, Oshkosh, Wis., 771. 3, Robert Young, Ontario, Canada, 769. 4, Bill Faerber, St. Cloud, Minn., 755. 5, Paul McCordic, Sugar Land, Texas, 748. 6, Kris George, Las Vegas, 745. 7, David Rutherford, Warner Robins, Ga., 744. 8, Jason Rasinske, Dimondale, Mich., 742. 9, Terry Fredrickson, Grand Island, Neb., 741. 10, Brandon Brilinski, Flint, Mich., 739.


1, Joe Keltner, Wichita, Kan., 2,154. 2, Brandon Brilinski, Flint, Mich., 2,103. 3, Scott How, Oregon City, Ore., 2,090. 4 (tie), Richard Thomas, Middleton, Wis., and Andy Mills, Onalaska, Wis., 2,051. 6, Steve Diederick, Wahpeton, N.D., 2,049. 7, Thomas Ault Jr., Portland, Ore., 2,043. 8, Camden Rokita, Springfield, Ill., 2,038. 9, Kris George, Las Vegas, 2,033. 10, Justin Ward, Lexington, Ky., 2,031.

Team All-Events

1, Team Tilt (Thomas Ault Jr., Russ Wilson, Chris Greene, Joe Keltner, Jay Futrell), Lawrence, Kan., 10,065. 2, Towne and Country Lanes 1, Hartland, Wis., 9,766. 3, Nicholas J's Pro Shop 2, La Crosse, Wis., 9,650. 4, ND Storm, Mandan, N.D., 9,553. 5, Kingpin Lanes, Central Square, N.Y., 9,521. 6, Joliet Town and Country Lanes, Joliet, Ill., 9,509. 7, Reunited, Lawrence, Kan., 9,506. 8, Ross Cottom Lanes 4, Johnston City, Ill., 9,444. 9, Breakpoint Pro Shop 2, Sartell, Minn., 9,408. 10, FSU Dogs, Fresno, Calif., 9,370.

Bob Johnson

Bob Johnson has received more national writing awards than any other bowling writer — close to 70 over the course of his 40-year career. He began at age 16 as a staff writer and then assistant editor for the weekly Pacific Bowler newspaper in his native California, and within three years was writing feature stories for Bowlers Journal. He has written for the magazine ever since, except for a five-year span when he was hired as the founding editor of another magazine. He moved to Chicago in 2000 and spent 13 years in the Windy City, including five as Bowlers Journal’s Editor. In 1975, Johnson received the Robert E. Kennedy Award as California’s top undergraduate high school journalist. Five years earlier, on the lanes, he had shared the Bantam Division Doubles championship in the Orange County Junior Bowling Association Championships. Today, he continues to work full-time for Bowlers Journal as its Senior Editor, to write his popular “Strikes Me” column, and to edit Luby Publishing Inc.’s weekly business-to-business Cyber Report.

BJI Subscribe Now