Tang, Kovalova Named Collegiate MVPs for 2014-15 Season

by Gianmarc Manzione 0

Lucas Wiseman
USBC Communications

WICHITA, Kansas - San Jose State sophomore Michael Tang and Wichita State junior Daria Kovalova were named Most Valuable Players for the 2014-15 college bowling season by the National Collegiate Bowling Coaches Association.

Tang and Kovalova were honored Wednesday night with the rest of the All-Americans at the Night of Champions banquet held in conjunction with the 2015 XBowling Intercollegiate Team Championships, which starts Thursday at Northrock Lanes.

The International Bowling Media Association also honored Tang and Kovalova with its players of the year awards.

Tang led the country with a 221.6 average for 80 games while winning three individual titles. He also finished in the top five in the individual standings in 10 of the 13 events in which he competed.

Joining Tang as first-team All-Americans are his brother Darren Tang of San Jose State, Nick Kruml of Wisconsin-Whitewater, Nick Pate of Midland and Francois Lavoie of Wichita State.

Kovalova won three of the seven events she competed in this year en route to leading the country with a 213.6 average for 50 games.

Kovalova is joined as a first team All-American by Sabrena Divis of Midland, Katelyn Simpson of Pikeville, Brittany Smith of Grand View and Shannon DeWitt of Wright State.

Rookie of the Year honors went to Michael Coffey of Lindenwood and Sydney Brummett of Wichita State. Lindsey Wong of San Jose State was named the men's coach of the year, and Ron Damon of Pikeville was honored as the women's top coach.



First team
Michael Tang, San Jose State; Darren Tang, San Jose State; Nick Kruml, Wisconsin-Whitewater; Nick Pate, Midland; Francois Lavoie, Wichita State

Second team
Graham Fach, Urbana; Michael Coffey, Lindenwood; Ryan Zagar, Robert Morris-Illinois; AJ Johnson, McKendree; Russ Oviatt, Arizona State

Honorable mention
Ramon Hilferink, Webber International; Ben Pallardy, Lindenwood; Matt Kuba, Calumet; Justin Dunn, Webber International; Tylor Greene, Robert Morris-Illinois

Most Valuable Player - Michael Tang, San Jose State

Rookie of the Year - Michael Coffey, Lindenwood

Kerm Helmer Coach of the Year - Lindsey Wong, San Jose State


First team
Daria Kovalova, Wichita State; Sabrena Divis, Midland; Katelyn Simpson, Pikeville; Brittany Smith, Grand View; Shannon DeWitt, Wright State

Second team
Brianna Larson, Pikeville; Rachael Albright, Ursuline; Destiny Harper, Emmanuel; Sydney Brummett, Wichita State; Stephanie Cieslewicz, Robert Morris-Illinois

Honorable mention
Thashaina Seraus, Maryland-Eastern Shore; Fallon Tallman, Pikeville; Stephanie Schwartz, Stephen F. Austin; Shelby Fromm, Pikeville, Kamilah Dammers, Webber International

Most Valuable Player - Daria Kovalova, Wichita State

Rookie of the Year - Sydney Brummett, Wichita State

Kerm Helmer Coach of the Year - Ron Damron, Pikeville

Gordon Teigen Meritorious Service Award - Nick Hoagland, Hoosier Classic/H2M Management


Male - Michael Tang, San Jose State

Female - Daria Kovalova, Wichita State

Male runners-up
Michael Coffey, Lindenwood; Nick Kruml, Wisconsin-Whitewater; Francois Lavoie, Wichita State; Darren Tang, San Jose State

Male honorable mention
Graham Fach, Urbana; AJ Johnson, McKendree; Nick Pate, Midland

Female runners-up
Shannon DeWitt, Wright State; Sabrena Divis, Midland; Katelyn Simpson, Pikeville; Brittany Smith, Grand View

Female honorable mention
Rachael Albright, Ursuline, Brianna Larson, Pikeville; Thashaina Seraus, Maryland Eastern Shore

BJI Subscribe Now