Set for the Women’s European Masters

by Bob Johnson 0

The popular 14-lane Bowling Pedralbes in Barcelona is the new home for the 2011 European Women's Masters, and, for the Under 20's in the field, the President Samaranch Trophy, dedicated to the late IOC president.

Mai Ginge Jensen in Hong Kong

The field contesting this year's event over the four days of October 6-9 is 50-strong with maybe a few late entries. Defending champion is Mai Ginge Jensen from Denmark, the lithe young lady who came back from Hong Kong just a few weeks ago bearing one gold and three bronze medals.

This popular event, the only official tournament in Europe strictly for women, other than the European Women’s Championships.
Players invited by the tournament organizer 2011: Mai Ginge Jensen (Winner of the EWM 2010 – 5 EBT 2010) Denmark; Kamilla Kjeldsen (1 EBT 2000 - 1 EBT 2003) – Denmark; Bettina Lund (1 EBT 2001- 1 EBT 2002) – Denmark; Britt Bröndsted (1 EBT 2004 - 1 EBT 2005 - 1 EBT 2006 – 4 EBT 2009) – Denmark; Kirsten Penny (1 EBT 2007) – England; Nina Flack (1 EBT 2008 – 1 EBT 2010) – Sweden; Nicki Ainge (1 EBT 2009 - 4 EBT 2010) – England; Joline Persson-Planefors (2 EBT 2010) – Sweden; Krista Pöllänen (3 EBT 2010) – Finland; Rebecka Larsen (6 EBT 2010) – Sweden; Sue Abela (best player history MCC) – Malta; Niki Schiza (MCC 2011. Masters Women Gold medal) – Cyprus.

Special prizes President Samaranch Trophy for the five first ranked players under 20 years, in the first day of the tournament (limit date of birth: 06-10-1991).

So, who is strongly fancied to fly away with the trophy and top prize on Sunday night? Can aforementioned Mai Ginge Jensen make it a double, or could fellow Dane Britt Brondsted pip her to the post? Queen of the Mediterranean Sue Abela from Malta is in

Joline Persson-Planefors

fighting form and long-distance traveler Colombian Clara Guerrero was top girl in the Vienna Open last weekend. Three talented Swedes, NIna Flack, Joline Persson-Planefors and Helen Johnsson will be a trio to watch, especially as Joline tops the European Bowling tour rankings right now. Look out, too, for past champion Kirsten Penny from England, making a rare appearance from her busy work schedule, and Cypriot Niki Shiza who won gold in the Masters of the Mediterranean Challenge Cup on these lanes back in February.

Well, it is going to be a tough fight to make the stepladder final on Sunday evening and to put it all in a nutshell, there will be so much talent on display it is impossible to forecast a favorite. Maybe the picture could be clearer after the initial six game qualifier.

The final on Sunday will be web-streamed by Cat-TV. See for full details.

Bob Johnson

Bob Johnson has received more national writing awards than any other bowling writer — close to 70 over the course of his 40-year career. He began at age 16 as a staff writer and then assistant editor for the weekly Pacific Bowler newspaper in his native California, and within three years was writing feature stories for Bowlers Journal. He has written for the magazine ever since, except for a five-year span when he was hired as the founding editor of another magazine. He moved to Chicago in 2000 and spent 13 years in the Windy City, including five as Bowlers Journal’s Editor. In 1975, Johnson received the Robert E. Kennedy Award as California’s top undergraduate high school journalist. Five years earlier, on the lanes, he had shared the Bantam Division Doubles championship in the Orange County Junior Bowling Association Championships. Today, he continues to work full-time for Bowlers Journal as its Senior Editor, to write his popular “Strikes Me” column, and to edit Luby Publishing Inc.’s weekly business-to-business Cyber Report.

BJI Subscribe Now