Rash Is First Pick in PBA League Draft

by Bob Johnson 0

Dallas Strikers player-manager Norm Duke (far right) strategizes with draftees (from the left) Bill O'Neill, Tommy Jones and Michael Haugen Jr. before selecting Shawn Maldonado as the team's fifth player.
Dallas Strikers player-manager Norm Duke (far right) strategizes with draftees (from the left) Bill O'Neill, Tommy Jones and Michael Haugen Jr. before selecting Shawn Maldonado as the team's fifth player.


Sean Rash was the No. 1 pick in the 2015 PBA League Draft, held this morning in the squad room of the new South Point Bowling Plaza in Las Vegas.

Rash was selected by the Brooklyn Styles, managed by PBA Hall of Famer Johnny Petraglia.

Here’s a complete look at the draft, first by team roster, and then in the order of player selections:



Brooklyn Styles (Johnny Petraglia, Manager)

Sean Rash

Tom Smallwood

Parker Bohn III

Jason Sterner

Osku Palermaa


Pittsburgh Jack Rabbits (Tim Mack, Manager)

Wes Malott

Dan MacLelland

Ryan Ciminelli

Walter Ray Williams Jr.

Bryon Smith


L.A. X (Andrew Cain, Manager)

Jason Belmonte

Stuart Williams

Martin Larsen

Patrick Allen

Andres Gomez


Silver Lake Atom Splitters (Mark Baker, Manager)

Chris Barnes

Mika Koivuniemi

Tom Daugherty

Dick Allen

Craig Nidiffer


Philadelphia Hitmen (Jason Couch, Manager)

Dom Barrett

Chris Loschetter

Dave Wodka

Ryan Shafer

Rhino Page


Barbasol Motown Muscle (Del Ballard Jr., Manager)

E.J. Tackett

Ronnie Russell

Josh Blanchard

John Szczerbinski

Mike DeVaney


Dallas Strikers (Norm Duke, Manager)

Bill O’Neill

Tommy Jones

Michael Haugen Jr.

Norm Duke

Shawn Maldonado


GEICO New York City WTT KingPins (Carolyn Dorin-Ballard, Manager)

Pete Weber

Mike Fagan

D.J. Archer

Scott Norton

Amleto Monacelli



1. Sean Rash, Brooklyn Styles

2. Wes Malott, Pittsburgh Jack Rabbits

3. Jason Belmonte, L.A. X

4. Chris Barnes, Silver Lake Atom Splitters

5. Dom Barrett, Philadelphia Hitmen

6. E.J. Tackett, Barbasol Motown Muscle

7. Bill O’Neill, Dallas Strikers

8. Pete Weber, GEICO New York City WTT KingPins

9. Mike Fagan, GEICO New York City WTT KingPins

10. Tommy Jones, Dallas Strikers

11. Ronnie Russell, Barbasol Motown Muscle

12. Chris Loschetter Philadelphia Hitmen

13. Mika Koivuniemi, Silver Lake Atom Splitters

14. Stuart Williams, L.A. X

15. Dan MacLelland, Pittsburgh Jack Rabbits

16. Tom Smallwood, Brooklyn Styles

17. Parker Bohn III, Brooklyn Styles

18. Ryan Ciminelli, Pittsburgh Jack Rabbits

19. Martin Larsen, L.A. X

20. Tom Daugherty, Silver Lake Atom Splitters

21. Dave Wodka, Philadelphia Hitmen

22. Josh Blanchard, Barbasol Motown Muscle

23. Michael Haugen Jr., Dallas Strikers

24. D.J. Archer, GEICO New York City WTT KingPins

25. Scott Norton, GEICO New York City WTT KingPins

26. Norm Duke, Dallas Strikers

27. John Szczerbinski, Barbasol Motown Muscle

28. Ryan Shafer, Philadelphia Hitmen

29. Dick Allen, Silver Lake Atom Splitters

30. Patrick Allen, L.A. X

31. Walter Ray Williams Jr., Pittsburgh Jack Rabbits

32. Jason Sterner, Brooklyn Styles

33. Osku Palermaa, Brooklyn Styles

34. Bryon Smith, Pittsburgh Jack Rabbits

35. Andres Gomez, L.A. X

36. Craig Nidiffer, Silver Lake Atom Splitters

37. Rhino Page, Philadelphia Hitmen

38. Mike DeVaney, Barbasol Motown Muscle

39. Shawn Maldonado, Dallas Strikers

40. Amleto Monacelli, GEICO New York City WTT KingPins

The eight-team PBA League will compete for the Elias Cup March 28-30 at Bayside Bowl in Portland, Maine.

The PBA League in 2015 will feature the same eight team names and team managers from last season. A random draw determined the draft order, and managers filled their rosters with five players each. The Elias Cup will be decided by points earned in singles, doubles, trios and Baker team matches.

Players eligible for the PBA League Draft were based on PBA Tour competition points between the 2013 World Series of Bowling V and the 2014 Oklahoma Summer Swing, plus any player who was on a PBA League roster for 2014.

For the draft, players who committed to participation in the PBA League program were ranked based upon their position on the points list. The first player selected by each team had to be taken from the group of players ranking 1-10 on the points list. The second player drafted came from the group ranked 11-20 in points, plus any undrafted players from group one. The third player drafted came from those ranked 21-30 in points along with leftover players, and so on.

The draft was emceed by PBA Commissioner Tom Clark, and streamed live on Xtra Frame.
The draft was emceed by PBA Commissioner Tom Clark, and streamed live on Xtra Frame.


The one draft exception was Dallas player-manager Norm Duke, who finished 39th on the points list, and was required to draft himself in the fourth round.

The draft was conducted in “serpentine” format, whereby Team No. 1 picked first in the first round and last in the second round, and Team No. 8 picked last in the first round and first in the second round, etc.

Bob Johnson

Bob Johnson has received more national writing awards than any other bowling writer — close to 70 over the course of his 40-year career. He began at age 16 as a staff writer and then assistant editor for the weekly Pacific Bowler newspaper in his native California, and within three years was writing feature stories for Bowlers Journal. He has written for the magazine ever since, except for a five-year span when he was hired as the founding editor of another magazine. He moved to Chicago in 2000 and spent 13 years in the Windy City, including five as Bowlers Journal’s Editor. In 1975, Johnson received the Robert E. Kennedy Award as California’s top undergraduate high school journalist. Five years earlier, on the lanes, he had shared the Bantam Division Doubles championship in the Orange County Junior Bowling Association Championships. Today, he continues to work full-time for Bowlers Journal as its Senior Editor, to write his popular “Strikes Me” column, and to edit Luby Publishing Inc.’s weekly business-to-business Cyber Report.

BJI Subscribe Now