PBA50 Superstars Eye Career Milestones in Suncoast PBA Senior U.S. Open

by Bob Johnson 0


LAS VEGAS (May 25, 2016) -- The world’s greatest bowlers ages 50 years and older will compete in the first major tournament of the 2016 PBA50 Tour season when the Suncoast PBA Senior U.S. Open presented by 900 Global returns to the Suncoast Bowling Center in Las Vegas May 29-June 3.

Several of the PBA’s all-time great players will be trying to add another milestone to their legendary careers in the fifth stop of the season including defending champion Pete Weber’s bid to become the first player to win four consecutive PBA50 Tour Tournaments.

Bowling fans will be able to catch all the action – start to finish – on pba.com’s online bowling channel Xtra Frame. For subscription and schedule information click on www.xtraframe.tv.

Here’s a look at several compelling storylines for the 14th annual event:

Defending champion Pete Weber will try for a record fourth consecutive PBA50 Tour title:  Defending Senior U.S. Open champion PBA Hall of Famer Pete Weber, off to a blazing start in the 2016 PBA50 Tour season, will try to become the first player ever to win four consecutive PBA50 Tour titles. The reigning PBA50 Player of the Year finished fourth in the season-opening Pasco County Florida Open and since then won the United Healthcare Sun Bowl In The Villages, Mooresville Ford Open and Johnny Petraglia BVL Open in successive weeks. Weber currently shares the record for PBA50 consecutive titles with fellow Hall of Famer Tom Baker of King, N.C. who set the mark in 2006.

Suncoast PBA Senior U.S. Open is still looking for its first three-time winner: PBA Hall of Famers Amleto Monacelli of Venezuela, and Tom Baker of King, N.C., will be trying for a record third PBA Senior U.S. Open title. Monacelli, a 20-time PBA Tour and five-time PBA50 Tour winner won the event in 2012 and 2013. Baker, a 10-time PBA Tour and 12-time PBA50 Tour winner also won the event back-to-back in 2005 and 2006.

Baker, who currently is tied for second in career PBA50 Tour titles with Gary Dickinson and Dale Eagle with 12, will also try to move into second place by himself behind all-time titles leader John Handegard with 14 wins.

PBA legend Johnny Petraglia trying to become oldest player to win a PBA50 Tour title: PBA Hall of Famer Johnny Petraglia is trying to become the oldest player to win a PBA50 Tour title at age 69. In more than 50 years of PBA competition, Petraglia has won 14 PBA Tour and eight PBA50 Tour titles. He is the only player in PBA history to win a PBA Tour or PBA50 Tour national title in six different decades. He’s still competitive with a best finish of fourth in 2015 and a fourth-place finish this season.

Senior U.S. Open is first of four PBA50 Tour majors: For the first time in the more than 30 year history of the PBA50 Tour, players will have the opportunity to compete in four majors. After the Senior U.S. Open, the remaining majors are the USBC Senior Masters, PBA50 Treasure Island Resort & Casino PBA World Championship and PBA50 National Championship.

Players vying for season-ending PBA50 Tour TV finals: The top eight bowlers from the 2016 PBA50 Tour points list advance to the PBA Challenge held in conjunction with PBA World Series of Bowling VIII in Reno in December. The top two PBA Challenge competitors in the PBA50 division advance to a final to air exclusively on PBA’s online bowling channel Xtra Frame, following an eight game match play round.

Hall of Famers competing in the Senior U.S. Open: Eight PBA Hall of Famers are entered in the Senior U.S. Open including Walter Ray Williams Jr., Pete Weber, Tom Baker, Norm Duke, Parker Bohn III, Brian Voss, Johnny Petraglia, and Dale Eagle.

Past Champions: Five Past Senior U.S. Open champions are entered including Pete Weber (2015), Norm Duke (2014), Amleto Monacelli (2012-2013), Ron Mohr (2011) and Tom Baker (2005-06).

Challenging format: The PBA Senior U.S. Open is considered the most demanding test for players because of its grueling format and challenging lane conditions. Like the U.S. Open on the PBA Tour, the Senior U.S. Open demands patience, quality shot-making and a strong mental game over 42 games of qualifying and match play. The top four players will then meet in the stepladder finals to determine the winner.


2015     Pete Weber

2014     Norm Duke

2013     Amleto Monacelli

2012     Amleto Monacelli

2011     Ron Mohr

2010     Mark Williams

2009     Wayne Webb

2008     Wayne Webb

2007     n-Rick Minier

2006     Tom Baker
2005     Tom Baker

2004     David Ozio

2003     Dave Soutar



Suncoast Bowling Center, Las Vegas (All times Pacific)

Sunday, May 29

8 - A Squad practice

9:15 a.m. - B Squad practice

10:30 a.m. - C Squad practice

Monday, May 30

7 a.m. - A Squad, 6 qualifying games

10:45 a.m. - B Squad, 6 qualifying games

2:30 p.m. C Squad, 6 qualifying games

Tuesday, May 31

7 a.m. - B Squad, 6 qualifying games

10:45 a.m. - C Squad, 6 qualifying games

2:30 p.m. - A Squad, 6 qualifying games

Wednesday, June 1

7 a.m. - C Squad, 6 qualifying games

10:45 a.m. - A Squad, 6 qualifying games

2:30 p.m. - B Squad, 6 qualifying games

(Based on 192-player field, top 48 advance to match play)

Thursday, June 2

8 a.m. –  6 games round robin match play

1 p.m. -  6 games round robin match play

Friday, June 3

8 a.m. - 6 games round robin match play

12:30 p.m. - 6 games round robin match play

            Top 4 advance after 42 games advance to stepladder finals

4:15 p.m. – Top 4 stepladder finals

Bob Johnson

Bob Johnson has received more national writing awards than any other bowling writer — close to 70 over the course of his 40-year career. He began at age 16 as a staff writer and then assistant editor for the weekly Pacific Bowler newspaper in his native California, and within three years was writing feature stories for Bowlers Journal. He has written for the magazine ever since, except for a five-year span when he was hired as the founding editor of another magazine. He moved to Chicago in 2000 and spent 13 years in the Windy City, including five as Bowlers Journal’s Editor. In 1975, Johnson received the Robert E. Kennedy Award as California’s top undergraduate high school journalist. Five years earlier, on the lanes, he had shared the Bantam Division Doubles championship in the Orange County Junior Bowling Association Championships. Today, he continues to work full-time for Bowlers Journal as its Senior Editor, to write his popular “Strikes Me” column, and to edit Luby Publishing Inc.’s weekly business-to-business Cyber Report.

BJI Subscribe Now