Next Up on Xtra Frame: PBA/PWBA Striking Against Breast Cancer Mixed Doubles

by Gianmarc Manzione 0

Defending champions, Missy Parkin and Scott Norton
Defending champions, Missy Parkin and Scott Norton

The PBA Tour returns to action this week when it joins hands with the PWBA in a special event, the PBA/PWBA Xtra Frame Striking Against Breast Cancer Mixed Doubles, from Palace Lanes Friday, July 31-Sunday, Aug. 2.

For the first time, the 16-year-old fund-raising tournament, held in the memory of former PWBA competitor Luci Bonneau, will award PBA Tour and PWBA Tour titles to the winners if they are PBA/PWBA members. PBA/PWBA stars Scott Norton of Mission Viejo, Calif., and Missy Parkin of Laguna Hills, Calif., are defending champions.

Fans can catch all the action when live wire-to-wire coverage begins on PBA’s online bowling channel, Xtra Frame, on Friday, July 31 at 2 p.m. ET (1 p.m. CT), when the first of three squads will bowl their eight-game qualifying round. Qualifying continues Saturday with the two more squads bowling at 9 a.m. ET (8 a.m. CT) and 2:30 p.m. ET (1:30 p.m. CT).  The top 30 teams after eight games will advance to a four-game cashers’ round at 9 a.m. ET (8 a.m. CT) Sunday, and the top eight teams will then bowl the eight-game round robin match play final round at 1 p.m. ET (12 noon CT). The winner will be decided based upon combined 20-game pinfall totals.

The tournament, affectionately called “The Luci,” features an all-star field of 128 teams, plus two sold-out pro-am squads. Since its inception, the tournament has raised more than $650,000 in support of the fight against breast cancer in Bonneau’s memory.

For Xtra Frame subscription and schedule information click on the Xtra Frame logo on the pba.com homepage. Three-day subscriptions after available for $3.99, a full-month subscription costs $7.99 and the 12-month XF Season Ticket is offered at $64.99.

For a complete roster of players, click here: http://www.pba.com/Tournaments/Regional/3594. To make an online donation to the cause, click here: http://www.strikingagainstbreastcancer.org/.

PBA/PWBA XTRA FRAME STRIKING AGAINST BREAST CANCER MIXED DOUBLES

Palace Lanes, Houston, Texas, July 31-Aug. 2 (all times are Central)

Thursday, July 30
2 p.m. – Open practice session
Friday, July 31
9 a.m. – Open practice session
1 p.m. - C Squad, 8 qualifying games
7 p.m. - Pro-am squad
Saturday, Aug. 1
8 a.m. - A Squad, 8 qualifying games
1:30 p.m. - B Squad, 8 qualifying games

  Top 30 teams after 8 games advance to cashers’ round
8 p.m. - Pro-am squad

Sunday, Aug. 2
8 a.m. - Top 30 teams, 4-game cashers’ round
  Top 8 teams after 12 games advance to round-robin match play
Noon - Top 8 teams, 8 games round robin match play

DV8 Intimidator