New Hall category

by Bob Johnson 0

To recognize top performers in United States Bowling Congress tournaments, USBC will have a new Hall of Fame category starting in 2011.

The Outstanding USBC Performance category will recognize efforts by bowlers in USBC national events. This will cover performances of bowlers in tournaments such as the Open Championships, Women’s Championships, Queens and Senior Queens, and Masters and Senior Masters.

“We have quite a few great bowlers that should be recognized for their exceptional performances in USBC events,” USBC Managing Director of Media Pete Tredwell said. “The new category will ensure these bowlers receive their due.”

To qualify in the Outstanding USBC Performance category, a bowler must first meet all requirements for and be nominated in the Superior Performance category. The requirements include:

* At least 40 years of age.

* 20 years of participation in USBC-approved national events.

* One of the following: a title at a professional event or a World Tenpin Bowling Assn. event; a 20-year average minimum (200 for men, 190 for women) in USBC-approved national events; a top-10 finish in a USBC-approved national event.

Once a bowler is on the ballot in the Superior Performance category for at least three years, the Hall of Fame Committee has the option to move the bowler to the Outstanding USBC Performance category. The guidelines for Outstanding USBC Performance will be applied to candidates retroactively.

After candidates are placed in the Outstanding USBC Performance category, the Hall of Fame Committee will vote on the candidates. There is no limit to the number of bowlers that can be inducted under this category each year.

The first inductions in the new category will take place in late June or early July of 2011. The deadline for submitting nominations in the Superior Performance and Meritorious Service categories is Aug. 31, 2010. Nomination forms can be found at

The USBC Hall of Fame was created in 2005 by merging the former American Bowling Congress and Women’s International Bowling Congress Halls of Fame. There are 249 Hall of Famers in the Performance category, 111 for Meritorious Service and 19 Pioneers.

Bob Johnson

Bob Johnson has received more national writing awards than any other bowling writer — close to 70 over the course of his 40-year career. He began at age 16 as a staff writer and then assistant editor for the weekly Pacific Bowler newspaper in his native California, and within three years was writing feature stories for Bowlers Journal. He has written for the magazine ever since, except for a five-year span when he was hired as the founding editor of another magazine. He moved to Chicago in 2000 and spent 13 years in the Windy City, including five as Bowlers Journal’s Editor. In 1975, Johnson received the Robert E. Kennedy Award as California’s top undergraduate high school journalist. Five years earlier, on the lanes, he had shared the Bantam Division Doubles championship in the Orange County Junior Bowling Association Championships. Today, he continues to work full-time for Bowlers Journal as its Senior Editor, to write his popular “Strikes Me” column, and to edit Luby Publishing Inc.’s weekly business-to-business Cyber Report.

BJI Subscribe Now