NCAA bowling field set

by Bob Johnson 0

The eight-team field competing for the 2010 NCAA National Collegiate Women's Bowling Championship was just announced by the NCAA Women's Bowling Committee.

The field includes the following teams, all selected at large:

* Arkansas State University

* University of Central Missouri

* Delaware State University

* Fairleigh Dickinson University

* University of Maryland, Eastern Shore

* University of Nebraska, Lincoln

* New Jersey City University

* Vanderbilt University

New Jersey City University will host the championship, which will be held April 8-10 at Brunswick Zone Carolier Lanes in North Brunswick, N.J. Tickets can be purchased by calling 201-200-2444 prior to the championship.

Competition will begin with qualifying rounds in which each team bowls one five-person regular team game against each of the other seven teams for a total of seven games. Teams will be seeded for bracket play based on their win-loss record during the qualifying rounds.

Teams will then compete in best-of-seven-games Baker matches in a double-elimination tournament. A Baker match tied 3½ games to 3½ games after seven games will be decided using a shootout sudden-death roll-off.

During bracket play, the higher seed receives starting lane preference for the first and seventh games of the match and for a tiebreaker.

The University of Nebraska, Lincoln captured the 2009 NCAA National Collegiate Women's Bowling Championship at Super Bowl Lanes in Canton, Mich. The Huskers defeated the University of Central Missouri, 4-1, for their third bowling championship.

The 2010 championship finals will air live on ESPNU on Saturday, April 10, at 8:30 p.m. Eastern, and a tape delay broadcast of the finals will air on ESPN on Sunday, April 11 at 3 p.m. Eastern.

For more information about the NCAA National Collegiate Women's Bowling Championship, go to

Bob Johnson

Bob Johnson has received more national writing awards than any other bowling writer — close to 70 over the course of his 40-year career. He began at age 16 as a staff writer and then assistant editor for the weekly Pacific Bowler newspaper in his native California, and within three years was writing feature stories for Bowlers Journal. He has written for the magazine ever since, except for a five-year span when he was hired as the founding editor of another magazine. He moved to Chicago in 2000 and spent 13 years in the Windy City, including five as Bowlers Journal’s Editor. In 1975, Johnson received the Robert E. Kennedy Award as California’s top undergraduate high school journalist. Five years earlier, on the lanes, he had shared the Bantam Division Doubles championship in the Orange County Junior Bowling Association Championships. Today, he continues to work full-time for Bowlers Journal as its Senior Editor, to write his popular “Strikes Me” column, and to edit Luby Publishing Inc.’s weekly business-to-business Cyber Report.

BJI Subscribe Now