Match Play Begins at 2016 Intercollegiate Team Championships

by Bob Johnson 0

Aaron Smith
USBC Communications


WICHITA, Kan. – After two rounds of match play, four men’s teams and four women’s teams remain undefeated at the 2016 Intercollegiate Team Championships at Northrock Lanes.

On the men’s side, William Paterson knocked off top-seed Purdue, 4-3, to remain undefeated in the double-elimination bracket after sweeping Calumet in the opening round. The Pioneers are joined in the winners’ bracket by McKendree, Robert Morris-Illinois and Webber International.

The women’s field is led by defending champion North Carolina A&T, which rolled through Emmanuel in the second round, 4-1, after defeating Pikeville, 4-1. Also advancing in the winners’ bracket is Florida State, McKendree and Wichita State.

The Intercollegiate Team Championships is the pinnacle of the collegiate bowling season, where the top 16 men's and top 16 women's teams compete for the right to hoist the Kerm Helmer Cup.

Teams qualified for the ITC by finishing in the top four in one of four sectionals held across the country in March. Thursday's competition began with 24 Baker games to determine the seeding for the double-elimination match-play bracket.

Match play resumes Friday at Northrock Lanes beginning at 9:15 a.m. Eastern, with's BowlTV providing live coverage of the event until two men's and two women's teams are left to compete for the national championship.

The finals will be taped for broadcast Saturday and will air on CBS Sports Network beginning in May. The women’s championship final will air Tuesday, May 24 at 10 p.m. Eastern, while the men’s title match will air Saturday, June 4 at noon Eastern.

For more information on the Intercollegiate Team Championships, please visit

At Northrock Lanes, Wichita, Kan.

Thursday's results

(24 games)

1, Purdue, 5,022. 2, Midland, 5,018. 3, Webber International, 5,009. 4, Wichita State, 4,942. 5, Pikeville, 4,917. 6, Wisconsin-Whitewater, 4,880. 7, Morehead State, 4,852. 8, Calumet, 4,803. 9, William Paterson, 4,790. 10, McKendree, 4,790. 11, Lindenwood, 4,781. 12, Urbana, 4,627. 13, Robert Morris-Illinois, 4,626. 14, San Jose State, 4,599. 15, Notre Dame-Ohio, 4,446. 16, Ohio State, 4,231.

1, Webber International, 5,104. 2, Emmanuel, 5,088. 3, Wichita State, 5,049. 4, Stephen F. Austin, 4,979. 5, Delaware State, 4,930. 6, Maryland Eastern Shore, 4,929. 7, Pikeville, 4,894. 8, Newman, 4,892. 9, McKendree, 4,891. 10, North Carolina A&T, 4,783. 11, Wisconsin-Whitewater, 4,725. 12, St. Ambrose, 4,500. 13, Florida State, 4,493. 14, Wright State, 4,372. 15, Notre Dame-Ohio, 4,310. 16, St. Francis-Illinois, 4,236.

(Best-of-7, double-elimination match play)


First Round
(1) Purdue def. (16) Ohio State, 4-0
(9) William Paterson def. (8) Calumet, 4-0
(5) Pikeville def. (12) Urbana, 4-3
(13) Robert Morris-Illinois def. (4) Wichita State, 4-1
(2) Midland def. (15) Notre Dame-Ohio, 4-0
(10) McKendree def. (7) Morehead State, 4-2
(6) Wisconsin-Whitewater def. (11) Lindenwood, 4-2
(3) Webber International vs. (14) San Jose State, 4-0

Second Round
William Paterson def. Purdue, 4-3
Robert Morris-Illinois def. Pikeville, 4-3
McKendree def. Midland, 4-0
Webber International def. Wisconsin-Whitewater, 4-2


First Round
(1) Webber International def. (16) St. Francis-Illinois, 4-0
(8) McKendree def. (9) Newman, 4-3
(5) Delaware State def. (12) St. Ambrose, 4-0
(13) Florida State def. (4) Stephen F. Austin, 4-2
(2) Emmanuel def. (15) Notre Dame-Ohio, 4-1
(10) North Carolina A&T def. (7) Pikeville, 4-1
(11) Wisconsin-Whitewater def. (6) Maryland Eastern Shore, 4-2
(3) Wichita State def. (14) Wright State, 4-3

Second Round
McKendree def. Webber International, 4-0
Florida State def. Delaware State, 4-2
North Carolina A&T def. Emmanuel, 4-1
Wichita State def. Wisconsin-Whitewater, 4-1

Bob Johnson

Bob Johnson has received more national writing awards than any other bowling writer — close to 70 over the course of his 40-year career. He began at age 16 as a staff writer and then assistant editor for the weekly Pacific Bowler newspaper in his native California, and within three years was writing feature stories for Bowlers Journal. He has written for the magazine ever since, except for a five-year span when he was hired as the founding editor of another magazine. He moved to Chicago in 2000 and spent 13 years in the Windy City, including five as Bowlers Journal’s Editor. In 1975, Johnson received the Robert E. Kennedy Award as California’s top undergraduate high school journalist. Five years earlier, on the lanes, he had shared the Bantam Division Doubles championship in the Orange County Junior Bowling Association Championships. Today, he continues to work full-time for Bowlers Journal as its Senior Editor, to write his popular “Strikes Me” column, and to edit Luby Publishing Inc.’s weekly business-to-business Cyber Report.

BJI Subscribe Now