Kovalova and Tang Selected as IBMA College Bowlers of the Year

by Gianmarc Manzione 0

ARLINGTON, Texas - Daria Kovalova and Michael Tang have been selected as 2015 College Bowlers of the Year by the International Bowling Media Association. The pair received their awards at the Night of Champions banquet and reception on Wednesday April 15 at the Holiday Inn Wichita East.

UkraineKovalova, a 20 year-old junior at Wichita State University, majors in Art and Design. She hails from Dnipropetrovsk, Ukraine. Her accomplishments include 2014 World Youth Championships, masters bronze medal; 2014 European Women's Championships, singles gold medal; 2013 World Games, 1st place; 2013, 2011, 2010, Ukrainian Cup, 1st place; 2012, 2011, 2010, Ukrainian Championships, 1st place; 2012 European Cup, 1st place; 2012 European Youth Championships, All-Events/Masters, 1st place; 2011 European Youth Championships, Singles/All-Events, 1st place. High Game 300, High Series 783.

TangMichael Tang, a 19 year-old sophomore at San Jose State University, majors in psychology. Tang hails from San Francisco where he graduated from Balboa High School. At age 10, Tang was the youngest bowler to shoot 300 (March 11, 2006). He is a current member of Junior Team USA and his accomplishments include 2015 Collegiate Club Sports Player of the Year; 2015 Collegiate Club Sports 1st Team All American; 2014 Las Vegas Main Event Champion; 5th 2014 Jr. Gold Championships; 7th 2014 Pam Buckner Open; 2013 SF-USBC Star of Tomorrow; 2013 Junior World Team Champion; 9th 2013 New Mexico Open; 4 time Youth Bowler's Association Champion; 10 Time Northern California All Star. High Game 300 (11), High Series 857 (2).

The IBMA College Bowler of the Year Award is given each season to the male and female bowlers who excel on the lanes in USBC officially certified collegiate competition. Players must have a cumulative 32 games in to be considered for the award. Many professional and high-ranking amateur bowlers have received the award which was established in 1987 to honor the sport's finest young players and bring media attention to college bowling.

Notable past winners of the award include Kayla Bandy (2), Chris Barnes, Lynda Norry Barnes (2), Josh Blanchard, Joe Ciccone, PJ Haggerty (3), A.J. Johnson, Liz Johnson, Marshall Kent, Steve Kloempken, Kelly Kulick (2), Dan MacLelland (2), Bill O'Neil (3), Missy Belinder Parkin, Shannon Pluhowsky, Rick Steelsmith and Jazreel Tan.

BJI Subscribe Now