Foursomes for Weber Cup

by Bob Johnson 0

Four-member teams instead of the traditional five will be featured in the 2010 Weber Cup, set for Nov. 12-14 in England.

Representing the U.S. will be Tim Mack, Chris Barnes, Tommy Jones and Pete Weber. The European team will consist of Osku Palermaa, Dominic Barrett, Mika Koivuniemi and Paul Moor.

Speaking of Barrett, that resident of England topped the European Bowling Tour men’s standings following the Pavlovsky Posad Open in Russia. Atop the women’s standings was Nina Flack of Sweden.

Bob Johnson

Bob Johnson has received more national writing awards than any other bowling writer — close to 70 over the course of his 40-year career. He began at age 16 as a staff writer and then assistant editor for the weekly Pacific Bowler newspaper in his native California, and within three years was writing feature stories for Bowlers Journal. He has written for the magazine ever since, except for a five-year span when he was hired as the founding editor of another magazine. He moved to Chicago in 2000 and spent 13 years in the Windy City, including five as Bowlers Journal’s Editor. In 1975, Johnson received the Robert E. Kennedy Award as California’s top undergraduate high school journalist. Five years earlier, on the lanes, he had shared the Bantam Division Doubles championship in the Orange County Junior Bowling Association Championships. Today, he continues to work full-time for Bowlers Journal as its Senior Editor, to write his popular “Strikes Me” column, and to edit Luby Publishing Inc.’s weekly business-to-business Cyber Report.

BJI Subscribe Now