Collegiate Championships Begin Next Week in Wichita

by Gianmarc Manzione 0

DSC_9066.JPGThe nation's top college teams and individuals will battle for national championships when the XBowling Intercollegiate Team Championships and the XBowling Intercollegiate Singles Championships kick off April 14 at Northrock Lanes in Wichita, Kansas.

The championships are the pinnacle events of the college bowling season, which began in September. Defending men's team champion Lindenwood and women's champion Robert Morris-Illinois return to defend their titles.

The defending champs are among the 16 men's and 16 women's teams that advanced to the collegiate nationals. In the singles competition, the field is made up of 24 men and 16 women.

All qualifying and match play rounds of both events will be shown live on's BowlTV, while the champions will be crowned on national television. The semifinals and finals of the Intercollegiate Singles Championships and the finals of the Intercollegiate Team Championships will be shown on national television in May.

Competition gets underway April 14 with qualifying and match play for the Intercollegiate Singles Championships. The final four men and final four women will be determined for the semifinals, which will take place April 18.

The singles participants will bowl eight games of qualifying to determine seeding for the single-elimination match-play bracket, which consists of three-game, total-pinfall matches.

The Intercollegiate Team Championships gets underway April 16 with qualifying and match play. After a final full day of match play on April 17, the final two men's teams and final two women's teams will advance to the televised finals, also on April 18.

The teams will bowl 24 games of Baker qualifying to determine seeding for the double-elimination Baker match-play bracket. In match play, teams will bowl best-of-seven matches.

XBowling is the title sponsor of the collegiate national championships. XBowling is a first-of-its-kind bowling app that empowers bowlers to connect and compete using their smart phone or tablet devices while bowling within XBowling enabled centers locally, across the country and around the world. The XBowling platform allows bowlers to enter challenges, view live scoring, and compete remotely while bowling.

At Northrock Lanes, Wichita, Kansas, April 16-18


Calumet, Whiting, Ind.; Clarke, Dubuque, Iowa; Davenport, Grand Rapids, Mich.; Lindenwood, St. Charles, Mo.; Lindenwood-Belleville, Belleville, Ill.; McKendree, Lebanon, Ill.; Midland, Fremont, Neb.; Notre Dame-Ohio, South Euclid, Ohio; Pikeville, Pikeville, Ky.; Purdue, West Lafayette, Ind.; Robert Morris-Illinois, Chicago; San Jose State, San Jose, Calif.; Urbana, Urbana, Ohio; Webber International, Babson Park, Fla.; Wichita State, Wichita, Kan.; Wisconsin-Whitewater, Whitewater, Wis.


Bowling Green, Bowling Green, Ohio; Delaware State, Dover, Del.; Emmanuel, Franklin Springs, Ga.; Grand View, Des Moines, Iowa; Lindenwood, St. Charles, Mo.; McKendree, Lebanon, Ill.; Midland, Fremont, Neb.; North Carolina A&T, Greensboro, N.C.; Pikeville, Pikeville, Ky.; Robert Morris-Illinois, Chicago; St. Francis-Illinois, Joliet, Ill.; Stephen F. Austin, Nacogdoches, Texas; Webber International, Babson Park, Fla.; Wichita State, Wichita, Kan.; Wisconsin-Whitewater, Whitewater, Wis.; Wright State, Dayton, Ohio

At Northrock Lanes, Wichita, Kansas, April 14 and 18


Joshua Anderson, St. Ambrose; Vince Bachteler, Nebraska; Sean Black, Davenport; Zachery Brandt, Davenport; Christopher Colella, Wichita State; Tyler Cruz, Wichita State; Andre Fors, Lindenwood; Brian Gaines, Temple; Tylor Greene, Robert Morris-Illinois; Andy Henrich, Ohio State; David Lance, Webber International; Matt McNiel, Wichita State; Devon Miller, Morehead State; Ben Pallardy, Lindenwood; Sean Pepper, Indiana State; Cody Reichenberger, Webber International; Joshua Roca, Nassau Community College; DJ Rose, Concordia; Cameron Smith, Lindenwood; Payden Stumpf, Midland; Michael Tang, San Jose State; Meeco Walker, Notre Dame-Ohio; Alan Wedrickas, Minnesota State; Cameron Weier, Robert Morris-Illinois


Julia Bond, Nebraska; Jessica Cords, Alma; Verity Crawley, Webber International; Shannon Dewitt, Wright State; Emily Eckhoff, Hastings; Jacqueline Evans, Lawrence Tech; Shelly Goodwin, Lindenwood; Lauren Hoffman, Sacred Heart; Carrie Hopkinson, Sam Houston State; Daria Kovalova, Wichita State; Kristie Lopez, Wichita State; Alyssa Pierson, Lindenwood; Robyn Renslow, Vanderbilt; Emily Strombeck, North Carolina A&T; Brandi Underwood, Marian; Aretha Williams, St. Ambrose

BJI Subscribe Now