Belmonte Wins Best Bowler ESPY for Second Time

by Gianmarc Manzione 0

BelmoTwo-time defending PBA Player of the Year Jason Belmonte of Australia won the Best Bowler ESPY Award for the second time during the 2015 ESPY Awards ceremony Wednesday evening at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles.

Belmonte, who won his first ESPY Award in 2011, was among winners in a variety of sports and special moment categories that were determined by fan voting on with the winners announced during the ESPY Awards ceremony telecast on ABC.

In 2015, Belmonte won the United States Bowling Congress Masters for an unprecedented third consecutive year and successfully defended his Barbasol PBA Tournament of Champions title for his fifth career major and boosting his career win total to 12.

He also has five other top-five finishes this year including runnerup finishes in the Oklahoma Open and Maine Xtra Frame Shootout.

Also nominated for the ESPY were PBA Hall of Famer Parker Bohn III of Jackson, N.J. and Mike Fagan of Fort Worth, Texas.  Bohn won the PBA Players Championship for his 34th career PBA Tour title. He had two other top-10 finishes including an eighth-place finish in the Barbasol PBA Tournament of Champions and 10th in the Mark Roth/Marshall Holman Doubles Championship with partner Ryan Ciminelli.

Fagan won the PBA World Championship for his fifth career title and second major.  He also had three other top-10 finishes including second in the Japan Invitational and sixth in the Bahrain International and Badger Opens.

"I'm absolutely delighted to have won my second ESPY,” said Belmonte. “The ESPY is all up to the fans.  I am so thankful to all my fans who voted for me. I truly believe I have such an amazing fan base and they make what I do so much more fun.

“Congratulations to Mike and Parker on their nominations and thank you to the PBA for giving us a stage which we love to perform on. Once again, I have to thank all the fans for voting me this year’s ‘Best Bowler’."


2015 – Jason Belmonte
2014 – Pete Weber
2013 – Pete Weber
2012 – Sean Rash
2011 – Jason Belmonte
2010 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2009 – Norm Duke
2008 – Norm Duke
2007 – Norm Duke
2006 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2005 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2004 – Pete Weber
2003 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2002 – Pete Weber
2001 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2000 – Parker Bohn III
1999 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
1998 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
1997 – Bob Learn Jr.
1996 – Mike Aulby
1995 – Norm Duke
1994 – Norm Duke

BJI Subscribe Now