All-Star Roster of Players Set for 2015 PBA League Draft Friday; Xtra Frame to Provide Live Coverage

by Gianmarc Manzione 0

An all-star list of bowling stars is set for Friday’s 2015 PBA League Draft, which will be conducted Friday at 3 p.m. ET (noon PT) from the new South Point Bowling Plaza. A live international audience will be able to watch the third annual PBA League draft on PBA’s online bowling channel, Xtra Frame.

NAMES, NAMESThe eight-team PBA League will compete for the Elias Cup March 28-30 at Bayside Bowl in Portland, Maine.

The 2015 PBA League in 2015 will feature the same eight team names and team managers from last season, but after a random draw will determine the draft order and managers will fill their rosters with five players each for the Elias Cup competition in Maine. The Elias Cup will be decided by points earned in singles, doubles, trio and Baker team matches.

Based on the competition points list, the top 10 players in the draft, in points order, will be Jason Belmonte, Dom Barrett, E.J. Tackett, Sean Rash, Wes Malott, Tom Smallwood, Pete  Weber, Bill O'Neill, Chris  Barnes, Ryan Ciminelli.

Returning team managers are: Mark Baker (defending Elias Cup champion Silver Lake Atom Splitters), Carolyn Dorin-Ballard (GEICO New York City WTT KingPins), Johnny Petraglia (Brooklyn STyLES), Norm Duke (Dallas Strikers), Tim Mack (Pittsburgh Jack Rabbits), Jason Couch (Philadelphia Hitmen), Andrew Cain (L.A. X) and Del Ballard Jr. (Barbasol Motown Muscle).

● Players eligible for the PBA League Draft were based on PBA Tour competition points between the 2013 World Series of Bowling V and the 2014 Oklahoma Summer Swing, plus any player who was on a PBA League roster for 2014.

● For the draft, players who committed to participation in the PBA League program will be ranked based upon their position on the points list. The first player elected by each team must be taken from the group of players ranking 1-10 on the points list. The second player drafted will come from the group ranked 11-20 in points, plus any undrafted players from group one. The third player drafted will come from those ranked 21-30 in points. The fourth player will come from those ranked 31-40 in points, and the fifth player will come from the players ranked 41-50 and previous team members not among the points leaders. Players undrafted in each round will be eligible in the following round, expanding the pool of players as each round continues. The draft exception will be Dallas player-manager Norm Duke, who finished 39th on the points list, and will draft himself in the fourth round.

● A random draw will determine the team draft order. The draft will then be conducted in “serpentine” format whereby Team No. 1 will pick first in the first round and last in the second round, and Team No. 8 will pick last in the first round and first in the second round, etc.


(Listed by round order based on their rankings on the PBA competition points list)

Round 1: Jason Belmonte, Dom Barrett, E.J. Tackett, Sean Rash, Wes Malott, Tom Smallwood, Pete  Weber, Bill O'Neill, Chris  Barnes, Ryan Ciminelli.

Round 2: Tommy Jones, Mike Fagan, Ronnie Russell, Dick Allen, Mika Koivuniemi, Chris Loschetter, Dan MacLelland, Stuart Williams, Tom Daugherty, Josh Blanchard.

Round 3: Dave  Wodka, Martin Larsen, Michael  Haugen Jr., Thomas Larsen, Parker Bohn III, D.J. Archer, Brian Valenta, Brian Kretzer, Shawn Maldonado, Nathan Bohr.

Round 4: Jake Peters, Jason Sterner, Tom Baker, Ryan  Shafer, Walter Ray Williams Jr., Lee  Vanderhoef, Scott Norton, Patrick Allen, Norm  Duke, John Szczerbinski.

Round 5: Eugene  McCune, Craig Nidiffer, Bryon  Smith, Osku Palermaa, Rhino Page, Dino Castillo, Clara Guerrero, Anthony Lavery-Spahr, Jesse Buss, Andres Gomez, Mike DeVaney, Amleto Monacelli, Brad Angelo.

BJI Subscribe Now