21 Candidates Hoping to Fill One of 17 Berths in Monday’s PBA League Draft

by Bill Vint, Professional Bowlers Association 0

PORTLAND, Maine (April 5, 2019) – Twenty-one Go Bowling! PBA Tour players have signed on to participate in Monday’s 2019 PBA League Elias Cup draft, hoping to fill one of the 17 available berths in July’s PBA League competition at Portland’s Bayside Bowl.

For the first time, Portland’s enthusiastic fans will have an opportunity to attend the draft party at Bayside Bowl where the eight 2019 team managers will complete their rosters live on FloBowling, PBA’s official online live-streaming outlet, beginning at 4 p.m. EDT.

Among those hoping to land berths in the PBA League are Andrew Anderson of Holly, Mich., who used his “snub” a year ago as incentive that propelled him to earn 2018 PBA Player of the Year honors; first-time PBA Tour title winner Kris Prather of Plainfield, Ill., and 19 other players who have excelled in Go Bowling! PBA Tour competition in 2019.

Portland Lumberjacks manager Tim Mack will make the first pick from a pool of players who finished in the top 30 in 2019 competition points. Choosing second will be L.A. X, followed by the Brooklyn Styles, New York City Kingpins, Motown Muscle, Dallas Strikers, Philadelphia Hitmen and defending champion Silver Lake Atom Splitters. The serpentine draft will then reverse order with the Atom Splitters making the first selection of the second round. The Brooklyn Styles, which has three vacant spots to fill, will make the final selection to complete its five-player roster.

Players eligible for selection in the opening round will be: Dick Allen, Andrew Anderson, DJ Archer, AJ Chapman, Patrick Girard, Andres Gomez, Mykel Holliman, Anthony Lavery-Spahr, Shawn Maldonado, Brad Miller, Rhino Page, Jake Peters, Kris Prather, Kyle Sherman and Darren Tang.

PBA members who finished in the top 30 in competition points are eligible to be drafted in the first round. Players who ranked 31-40 in points, along with those not selected in the first round, will be eligible for the remaining berths. Those players are: Brad Angelo, Mitch Hupé, AJ Johnson, Thomas Larsen, Nick Pate, and Zach Wilkins.

Currently, 2019 PBA League rosters include the following players who were protected from their 2018 respective team’s roster. The teams, listed in draft order, are:

● Portland Lumberjacks (manager Mack): Ryan Ciminelli, Wes Malott, Kyle Troup.

● L.A. X (manager Andrew Cain): Jason Belmonte, Stuart Williams, Jakob Butturff.

● Brooklyn Styles (manager Johnny Petraglia): Walter Ray Williams Jr., Sean Rash.

● New York City KingPins (manager Carolyn Dorin-Ballard): Pete Weber, Marshall Kent, BJ Moore.

● Motown Muscle (manager Del Ballard Jr.): EJ Tackett, Anthony Simonsen, Josh Blanchard.

● Dallas Strikers: player-manager Norm Duke, Tommy Jones, Bill O’Neill.

● Philadelphia Hitmen (manager Jason Couch): Dom Barrett, Tom Smallwood, Matt Sanders.

● Silver Lake Atom Splitters (manager Mark Baker): Chris Barnes, Jesper Svensson, Tom Daugherty.

Following Monday’s draft, Portland will also host the inaugural round of PBA Playoffs matches that will air later in the evening, live on FS1 at 7 p.m. Eastern. The new Go Bowling! PBA Tour singles match play competition will feature the season’s top 24 players in competition points in a FOX Sports series will air in eight prime-time FS1 telecasts on Monday nights in April and May, leading up to the live FOX telecasts of the semifinal and final rounds on June 1 and 2. The winner will earn $100,000.

PBA League players will return to Bayside Bowl for the 2019 PBA League Elias Cup competition on July 16, 17 and 18. All rounds will air live on FOX Sports’ FS1 in prime time.

BJI Subscribe Now