2015 XBowling Intercollegiate Team Championships Field Set

by Gianmarc Manzione 0

DSC_9032.JPGThe 32 teams that will compete for collegiate national titles were decided Sunday as the field for the 2015 XBowling Intercollegiate Team Championships was set.

The field of 16 men's teams and 16 women's teams was determined at sectional qualifiers at four sites - Stratford, New Jersey; Fort Worth, Texas; Addison, Illinois; and Smyrna, Tennessee - with the top four teams in each division advancing.

All teams bowled 64 games of Baker competition over two days for the right to advance to the Intercollegiate Team Championships, which will be held April 16-18 at Northrock Lanes in Wichita, Kansas. The men's and women's finals will be broadcast on national television.

The McKendree men and women pulled off a sweep of the sectional in Smyrna. The Bearcats men's team fired a 64-game total of 13,038 to easily top the field and advance along with Lindenwood, Purdue and Pikeville. McKendree's women's team shot 12,592 and snapped up nationals spots along with Lindenwood, Emmanuel and Pikeville.

For the second consecutive year, Wichita State swept the top spots in Fort Worth. The Shockers men edged Midland by just a pin, finishing with 12,893, with San Jose State and Lindenwood-Belleville also advancing. The Wichita State women fired 12,685 to advance with Stephen F. Austin, Grand View and Midland.

In Addison, the Wisconsin-Whitewater women and Robert Morris-Illinois men topped their respective divisions. Wisconsin-Whitewater shot 12,626 to top the women's standings and advance along with Bowling Green, Robert Morris-Illinois and St. Francis. On the men's side, Robert Morris-Illinois easily topped the field with 13,013 and moved on with Wisconsin-Whitewater, Clarke and Davenport.

The Urbana men and North Carolina A&T women had little trouble in leading the advancers from Stratford. Urbana shot 13,366 and picked up nationals spots along with Notre Dame-Ohio, Calumet and Webber International. For the women, North Carolina A&T fired 12,421 to advance with Webber International, Wright State and Delaware State.

For more information on the XBowling Intercollegiate Team Championships and complete sectionals results, visit BOWL.com/ITC.

BJI Subscribe Now