16 Survivors Advance at Maine Shootout

by Gianmarc Manzione 0

E.J. Tackett bowled the day's lone 300 game

Sixteen players survived the opening two rounds of the Professional Bowlers Association’s Xtra Frame Maine Shootout at Bayside Bowl Monday, but four PBA Hall of Famers and four former PBA Players of the Year were sidelined in the first best-of-three-game, single-elimination matches.

The Maine Shootout, the first-ever PBA Tour event held in Maine, ends Tuesday when the 16 players who advanced from Monday’s competition will continue to bowl best-of-three matches until a winner is decided. All of the competition will be covered live on PBA’s exclusive online bowling channel, Xtra Frame.

In Monday’s opening round, four PBA Hall of Famers were eliminated in 2-0 matches: Jason Sterner of Covington, Ga., toppled Pete Weber of St. Ann, Mo.; Rick Graham of Lancaster, Pa., ousted Parker Bohn III of Jackson, N.J., 2-0; amateur Terrence Robinson of Gray, Maine, knocked out 47-time PBA Tour titlist Walter Ray Williams Jr. of Oxford, Fla., and Scott Norton of Mission Viejo, Calif., swept Venezuela’s Amleto Monacelli.

Former PBA Players of the Year also were eliminated, including Wes Malott of Pflugerville, Texas, who was stunned by Josh Blanchard of Gilbert, Ariz. After beating Blanchard in game one, 270-202, Blanchard won back-to-back 258-256 decisions over Malott. EJ Tackett of Huntington, Ind., threw the day’s only 300 game on his way to a 2-1 verdict over Tommy Jones of Simpsonville, S.C.; Tim Mack of Indianapolis stepped in for PBA Hall of Famer Norm Duke, who withdrew due to a back injury, and dispatched Mika Koivuniemi of Hartland, Mich., 2-0, and Patrick Allen of Wesley Chapel, Fla., swept Chris Barnes of Double Oak, Texas, 2-0.

Local favorite Scott Moore, an amateur from Gray, Maine, eliminated another former PBA Player of the Year, Sean Rash of Montgomery, Ill., 2-1, in the Round of 32. The final two PBA Players of the Year – two-time reigning POY Jason Belmonte of Australia and former POY Patrick Allen of Wesley Chapel, Fla. – each won their first two matches and advanced to Tuesday’s Round of 16.

Bayside Bowl, Portland, Maine, March 30 (all times Eastern)

Round of 32 (best of three games, single-elimination match play; winners advance to Round of 16, losers each earned $1,000)
Anthony Pepe, Elmhurst, N.Y., def. Craig Nidiffer, Trenton, Mich., 2-0 (216-190, 235-218).
Tom Smallwood, Saginaw, Mich., def. Rick Graham, Lancaster, Pa., 2-0 (201-189, 262-247).
Shawn Maldonado, Houston, def. John Szczerbinski, N. Tonawanda, N.Y., 2-1 (256-182, 185-199, 227-179).
Dan MacLelland, Canada, def. Terrence Robinson, Gray, Maine, 2-1 (228-181, 213-224, 232-187).
Osku Palermaa, Finland, def. Rhino Page, Orlando, Fla., 2-1 (212-247, 268-225, 185-182).
Scott Moore, Lewiston, Maine, def. Sean Rash, Montgomery, Ill., 2-1 (236-213, 224-232, 208-195).
Joe Paluszek, Bensalem, Pa., def. Mike Edwards, Tulsa, Okla., 2-0 (191-157, 236-168).
Dave Wodka, Beavercreek, Ohio, def. Tom Hess, Urbandale, Iowa, 2-1 (234-279, 288-213, 243-235).
Jason Sterner, Covington, Ga., def. Ronnie Russell, Marion, Ind., 2-1 (268-223, 225-259, 204-169).
Josh Blanchard, Mesa, Ariz., def. Greg Ostrander, Freehold, N.J., 2-0 (248-178, 196-139).
E.J. Tackett, Huntington, Ind., def. Tim Mack, Indianapolis, 2-0 (232-164, 224-202).
Bryon Smith, Roseburg, Ore., def. Gary Faulkner Jr., Memphis, Tenn., 2-0 (205-197, 233-192).
Eric Malone, Brewster, N.Y., def. Scott Norton, Mission Viejo, Calif., 2-0 (243-207, 227-208).
Jason Belmonte, Australia, def. Ryan Shafer, Horseheads, N.Y., 2-0 (181-140, 265-255).
Tom Daugherty, Wesley Chapel, Fla., def. Gary Haines, West Babylon, N.Y., 2-1 (226-226, 221-175, 232-220).
Patrick Allen, Wesley Chapel, Fla., def. Ryan Ciminelli, Cheektowaga, N.Y., 2-0 (214-203, 216-205).

Round of 64 (best of three games, losers eliminated)
Russell def. Martin Larsen, Sweden, 2-1 (217-218, 264-203, 233-187).
Sterner def. Pete Weber, St. Ann, Mo., 2-0 (212-196, 222-208).
Blanchard def. Wes Malott, Pflugerville, Texas, 2-1 (202-270, 258-256, 258-256).
Ostrander def. Stuart Williams, England, 2-0 (257-178, 221-182).
Tackett def. Tommy Jones, Simpsonville, S.C., 2-1 (213-244, 300-224, 246-236).
Mack def. Mika Koivuniemi, Hartland, Mich., 2-0 (236-206, 242-161).
Smith def. Chris Loschetter, Avon, Ohio, 2-1 (205-254, 215-201, 233-222).
Faulkner def. Jeremy Allen, Augusta, Maine, 2-0 (214-206, 210-149).
Nidiffer def. Dan Buchman, Maple Shade, N.J., 2-1 (195-188, 200-217, 234-184).
Pepe def. Jimmy Clark, Topsham, Maine, 2-0 (259-258, 229-223).
Graham def. Parker Bohn III, Jackson, N.J., 2-0 (207-191, 227-200).
Smallwood def. Bill O'Neill, Langhorne, Pa., 2-1 (208-204, 209-212, 237-213).
Szczerbinski def. Charlie Mitchell, Portland, Maine, 2-0 (207-165, 235-133).
Maldonado def. Tim Gillick, Milford, Conn., 2-0 (217-213, 227-188).
MacLelland def. Richard Campbell, Phippsburg, Maine, 2-0 (219-166, 203-188).
Robinson def. Walter Ray Williams Jr., Oxford, Fla., 2-0 (219-203, 234-194).
Malone def. Dom Barrett, England, 1-1 (225-191, 190-199).
Norton def. Amleto Monacelli, Venezuela, 2-0 (191-146, 251-181).
Belmonte def. Tony Fernandez, Gorham, Maine, 2-0 (226-155, 213-199).
Shafer def. William Vidulich, Parsippany, NJ, 2-0 (224-135, 241-181).
Haines def. Jon VanHees, Charlestown, R.I., 2-1 (277-231, 194-221, 258-227).
Daugherty def. Michael Haugen Jr., Phoenix, 2-0 (197-162, 222-222).
Ciminelli def. Paul Bajorski, West Babylon, N.Y., 2-0 (204-198, 280-173).
P. Allen, Wesley Chapel, Fla., def. Chris Barnes, Double Oak, Texas, 2-0 (247-191, 179-177).
Page def. Stephen Babb, Augusta, Maine, 2-0 (245-144, 211-199).
Palermaa def. Dick Allen, Columbia, S.C., 2-0 (214-175, 220-185).
Rash def. Aaron Thiboutot, Brunswick, Maine, 2-1 (169-196, 235-149, 236-227).
Moore def. Sav Telesco, Stamford, Conn., 2-0 (186-179, 203-190).
Paluszek def. Justin Rollins, Sidney, Maine, 2-0 (191-150, 203-172).
Edwards def. Alex Aguiar, N. Dartmouth, Mass., 2-0 (224-158, 229-169).
Hess def. Mike DeVaney, Winchester, Calif., 2-1 (233-247, 238-205, 236-221).
Wodka def. Nicholas Wells, Newburgh, N.Y., 2-0 (221-158, 198-174).
x-Mack replaced Norm Duke who withdrew due to injury.

10 a.m. – Round of 16 Squad A pairings (best-of-three-games; winners advance to Round of 8, losers earn $1,500 each)
Anthony Pepe, Elmhurst, N.Y., vs. Tom Smallwood, Saginaw, Mich.
Shawn Maldonado, Houston, vs. Dan MacLelland, Canada.
Osku Palermaa, Finland, vs. Scott Moore, Lewiston, Maine.
Joe Paluszek, Bensalem, Pa., vs. Dave Wodka, Beavercreek, Ohio.

11:30 a.m. – Round of 16 Squad B pairings (best-of-three-games; winners advance to Round of 8, losers earn $1,500 each)
Jason Sterner, Covington, Ga., vs. Josh Blanchard, Mesa, Ariz.
E.J. Tackett, Huntington, Ind., vs. Bryon Smith, Roseburg, Ore.
Eric Malone, Brewster, N.Y., vs. Jason Belmonte, Australia.
Tom Daugherty, Wesley Chapel, Fla., vs. Patrick Allen, Wesley Chapel, Fla.

2 p.m. – Round of 8 (four best-of-three-game matches; winners advance to Semifinal Round)
6 p.m. – Semifinal Round (two best-of-three-game matches; winners advance to Championship Match)
7:30 p.m. – Championship Match (best-of-three-games)

300 Game: EJ Tackett.

BJI Subscribe Now